Scifaiku Contest – Win a Year’s Subscription to Poets & Writers magazine!

Christmas Gift by Petr Kratochvil

The good folks at Poets & Writers are running a two-for-one holiday offer for current magazine subscribers, so I thought I’d pass along the extra subscription to one lucky winner by way of a poetry contest.  I’m partial to scifaiku (science fiction haiku, read a good definition here and see some examples at Scifaikuest), so here’s your challenge:

Leave me one original scifaiku in the comments section of this post before midnight EST December 24, 2012.  I will choose my favorite and announce a winner on or before December 28, 2012.  Please leave me enough contact information so that I can track you down.  If you are chosen as the winner, I’ll need a street address so I can tell Poets & Writers where to send your subscription.  I reserve the right to choose a different winner if I can’t locate you.

Rules & fine print: One entry per person.  Odds of winning depend on the number of entries.  The decision of the judge (me) is final.  Scifaiku do not have to adhere to a 5-7-5 syllable scheme, but should be roughly around that number of syllables.  The winning prize – a one-year subscription to Poets & Writers magazine – can not be converted into a cash prize.  This contest is not sponsored by Poets & Writers, Scifaikuest, or anyone else (except maybe my 11-year-old son, who suggested the contest).  Void where prohibited by law.
Please note: All rights to any poems remain with their authors.  However, numerous journals consider ANY appearance online to be publication and, if you place your poem here, these venues may not consider your poem as an unpublished submission.  When in doubt, save your best work for your favorite journal.
Good luck!
13 thoughts on “Scifaiku Contest – Win a Year’s Subscription to Poets & Writers magazine!

  1. Thanks for running this contest, Julie. (And thanks to your son!)

    in soldered skulls
    preprogrammed memories
    echoing unheard

    Happy holidays, N Sloboda

    Like

  2. Thank you for sponsoring this contest. Haiku is an interesting form and sci-fi is the invitation of imagination. I have written both, but never thought of bringing an “in the moment” form of poetry into an out-of-this-world genre. You have stretched my imagination.

    Like

Leave a Reply

